Concerning Airships and Awards…

When our journalists set out to write their first novel together, they were optimistic Phoenix Rising would perform well.  What they did not expect is for their book, just six months after its release, to win the 2011 Airship Award for Best Steampunk Literature of the Year. The Airship Awards, honoring the finest in steampunk culture, was presented on October 14 in Seattle, Washington as part of SteamCon III.

The 2011 Airship Awards Finalists for Best in Literature were:

  • Phoenix Rising: A Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences Novel by Pip Ballantine & Tee Morris
  • The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack by Mark Hodder (a winner of the P.K. Dick Award)
  • Camera Obscura by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Half Made World by Felix Gilman

And the attendees of Steamcon chose The Ministry.

Our journalists present to you this little vignette as a gesture of thanks and appreciation.



One Reply to “Concerning Airships and Awards…”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.